PDA

View Full Version : An Experience with Colorado Powersports (Boulder)

dirkterrell
Fri Feb 16th, 2007, 11:05 AM
I have been following the thread/poll on various area dealerships and had an experience at the Colorado Powersports Boulder (henceforth CPB) location yesterday that you all might be interested in. First, some background on myself. I've been riding since 1984 when I bought a 500 Interceptor new. I still have the bike and it is in great shape. Over the years, I have added other bikes to the collection. I take care of my stuff.

Last year at the end of May, I saw a 2005 20th anniversary edition GSX-R 750 on the floor at CPB and I really liked the paint scheme on it. I didn't have to be sold on the capability of the machine itself. I hadn't bought a new bike since the 500 Interceptor and I decided that it was time I rewarded myself with a new toy. Negotiated a good price and took it home. Road it the rest of the summer, even riding it to work several times per week. When the weather turned colder in November, I wasn't riding it to work as much (but I was riding it every weekend) and one week went by when I didn't ride it at all during the week. I went to start it on the weekend and the battery was obviously discharged. At first I thought maybe something was draining it. I charged it back up but I could only get it to crank a couple of times before it was too weak. So, I stopped in at CPB and talked to Aaron (service manager) about it. He said that manufacturers claimed that if you went a week or more without riding or charging, that the battery would do that. I was incredulous because I've had bikes for quite a while and I have never had a problem with a battery because I didn't ride the bike for a week. But I took his advice and left it on the charger all the time (it charges periodically). The battery just got worse and worse until last weekend when I took it off the charger and it wouldn't crank at all.