PDA

View Full Version : Opinions: 1997 zx9r

japrules
Sat Apr 17th, 2004, 08:37 AM
I am getting tired already of my old sport bike.. a 1984 GPZ 750. Its sorta fast and all, but it handles for crap. Its a great sportbike starter though..

I am looking at a 1997 Kawi zx9r.. Its local, I do not know how many miles on it yet, has a pipe, was downed off the stand (scratches) and has a radiator leak.. guy wants $3000... why would the radiator leak? I know very little about this bike.. Does it have any chronic problems I should look for? Not knowing miles... how many miles before this motor is tired?

I have been riding my GPZ for 2 yrs.. I had an old BMW before that about 5 yrs ago that I rode for one summer.. I am JUST starting to push my GPZ 750.. to the point where I don't like how it handles, its twitchy and just not very fun in tight turns.. And getting good tires for its 18" wheels is kind of a pain. And it needs a paint job and I will use any excuse to by a cool looking bike like the zx9r..

But, I wonder also, is this too much bike for me at this point? The only reason why I am considering it is the price seems insane... I can fix the radiator myself.. I'll just braze it if its not too bad.. I'm 39 :cry: yrs old BTW.. pretty respnsible and have alot of car racing experience.. (road course).. I have never downed a bike, and thinking maybe I should have that experience before I buy one like this.. but I am not about to go out and force that situation!

Oh an how much is insurance gonna be??? My GPZ is NOT classified as a superbike.. so I pay like $250 a year.. will this one be about double?

Thoughts? :|

Joe

Rick T.
Sat Apr 17th, 2004, 09:11 AM
First, welcome to the CSC. You'll discover this is a GREAT place for motorcyclists, no matter what you ride.