PDA

View Full Version : my experience at fay myers

Jose
Mon Apr 2nd, 2007, 11:53 AM
so im new to the whole bike thing and decided to have a professional look over my bike. they did the 20k mile service which includes looking over the main components. while it was at fay myers, i started reading the owners manual. i was surprised how in depth the manuals are. i was figuring they would be like a car manual which doesn't tell how to repair and adjust pretty much everything. anyway, when i got my bike back, my wife picked it up for me, i was very disappointed. with what i learned from the manual, i started going through the bike. first, i noticed that the coolant was at the was at the level it should be at. i figured, ah, maybe they just looked it over. then i noticed there was a pin missing on my brake pedal, then i noticed the rear brake light wasn't working for the rear pedal, then i noticed rock chips on the top of the oil filter(they changed the oil and oil filter). so did they do anything!!! i was furious and called to talk directly the service manger. i had to leave a message. later in the day Jeff(the service manager) called me back. it seemed like he was genuinely concerned and said he was going to have another tech take a look at it and that they will pick up the bike tonight from my house. i really didn't want to ever take it to fay myers again, but i figured ill give them the benefit of the doubt. ill keep you guys informed to what happens.

rybo
Mon Apr 2nd, 2007, 12:02 PM
Jose,

Fay's is a club sponser and people here have had mixed experiences with them, but I think you've done exactly the right thing.

Let them have a chance to make it right, if they do give them the benefit of the doubt that the error was honest. I'm glad they are going the extra distance and picking up the bike from your house.