PDA

View Full Version : SuperMotard Bike Selection???????

RayCer
Sat May 5th, 2007, 12:00 PM
Just looking for some feedback and get some ideas on bike selection. I am considering geting a KTM690 for supermotard, or maybe the new Ducati Hypermotard? I have been riding street for 14 years and dirt for over 20, but i have never ridden a tard, nor have i ever been on a track, but im think it would be a fricken blast!

Any suggestions would be appreciated, thanks all!

Bueller
Sat May 5th, 2007, 02:29 PM
Do you want it for street, to replace a rocket or do you want a real tard?
What you get will greatly depend on what you plan on doing with it.

krod
Sat May 5th, 2007, 02:42 PM
Both those bikes are street tards. I am sure they are both great street bikes but you would not want to put them on a sumo track. Do what bueller did buy a KTM 525exc and put Sm wheels and tires on it. Its street legal and you can race it.

Bueller
Sat May 5th, 2007, 03:13 PM
And you can convert it back to dirt in 30min. (like I just did) and take it to Moab :)

BTW krod I have a clutch slave protector that I can't use, if yours is a
Magura it'll fit yours.

krod
Sat May 5th, 2007, 05:49 PM
Yep it will fit. Thanks Next practice I will bring my SX-CDI.

RayCer
Sat May 5th, 2007, 07:07 PM
im thinking about the KTm690 as a second bike and either keeping the gxr or upgrading it with an 07 gxr 1000. I am not sure if i will really hit the track, most likely use the tard as a hooligan bike for fun. I guess i could always get some wheels for my 05 CRF and run that at the track? If i go with the Duc, it would probably end up being my only street bike just based on cost.

Any thoughts on making the CRF into a track tard? Would i just need to do wheels and tires, or is there anything else i need to take into consideration?

Thanks for your guys input!

krod
Sat May 5th, 2007, 07:22 PM