PDA

View Full Version : Feul Injection and Altitude Power Loss

dr1ft3r
Fri Feb 7th, 2003, 10:27 AM
Okay, so I'm pretty new to bikes. I know all things considered equal, an engine will produce less power in higher altitudes because of the thinner air. Cars, bikes, even lawn mowers generate less power up here in Denver than it would at sea level. My first thought on this topic is why do cars retain better power up here than bikes. I've seen dyno charts on cars that have around a 10-15% power loss when dyno'd (uncorrected) in Denver as compared to the same dyno at sea level. Bikes on the other hand have like a ~25-30% loss. In many instances these bikes are carburated, as compared to most cars being fuel injected. I've heard the most common reason for this discrepency is in the higher complexity of the fuel/timing management system in fuel injected cars. Well, even in the newer fuel-injected bikes (F4i, Ducati Monster, etc.) with modern computer management systems there's still a larger power loss when compared to fuel injected cars. Why is this? Is there a bike on the market that defies these numbers and has a computer management system that matches up with those computer management systems of cars? I know I haven't backed up any of my numbers with actual proof, so please correct my numbers as necessary.

Just wanted to see if anyone could help me better understand. Thanks.

James

Hoopty
Fri Feb 7th, 2003, 10:34 AM
I dunno, but it may be that bikes are so high-tech/high performance that taking the oxygen away makes a bigger difference on a bike. :?

Anonymous
Fri Feb 7th, 2003, 10:45 AM