PDA

View Full Version : Blip it if U got it

Redflash3
Sat Jun 9th, 2007, 06:20 PM
I'm a newbie to CSC and I find the threads very helpful. Question. I'd like to learn the true technique of blipping the throttle. Can anyone give me some pointers/tips or a good book to read etc?:banghead:

lightning126zp
Sat Jun 9th, 2007, 07:41 PM
Here's something that might help you.
http://www.sportrider.com/ride/RSS/146_0402_shift_blip_throttle/

txrc51fatboy
Sat Jun 9th, 2007, 08:07 PM
pick up a book called "sportriding techniques". treat it like a bible

irdave
Sat Jun 9th, 2007, 11:09 PM
You know, I've stopped blipping the throttle. And I've stopped going down one gear at a time. Now I apply the brakes, grab the clutch, change down the required number of gears, and let the clutch out... No more blipping down each gear. Way quicker into the corners.

YMMV.

Redflash3
Mon Jun 11th, 2007, 07:06 PM
irdave, is your technique a more common technique or just something that works best for you? Because I still see many racers blipping, not that I'm a racers but I am getting more track experience.

pilot
Mon Jun 11th, 2007, 07:14 PM
You know, I've stopped blipping the throttle. And I've stopped going down one gear at a time. Now I apply the brakes, grab the clutch, change down the required number of gears, and let the clutch out... No more blipping down each gear. Way quicker into the corners.

YMMV.Dave, are you doing this with a slipper clutch? And is this in race mode or street or both?

Me, I'm doing a bit of both on the street. But on the track, all brake-- then downshift. No slipper clutch either. So, my goal is not to let the rear end brake loose as I'm preparing to and entering the corner (straight braking, downshifting, and trail braking into the first 1/3 to half of the turn. All of this requires a hell of a lot of steering control, especially on a 600 pound+ Kawasaki, with NO steering stabilizer. (I need a sponsor-- preferably rich and cute and Swiss--there soooo orderly.)