PDA

View Full Version : Takin' the Moto to the track

dues201
Sun Jul 15th, 2007, 09:29 PM
Im looking for someone to help me get into track days with my new supermoto. I just moved to denver a month or so ago and also purchased a 450smr that ive been using on the street. I dont have any road track experience, but Im not a beginner rider.
Im not quite ready, I still need to pick some stuff up for the bike, leathers, and aquire some tools that I thought I wouldnt need out here. If your someone that hits up a sm track of any type and wouldnt mind someone taggin along let me know.

krod
Sun Jul 15th, 2007, 09:58 PM
I'm there almost every sunday be happy to help ya out.

dues201
Mon Jul 16th, 2007, 06:52 PM
Thanks, I think I know what I need, but would like to hear from someone else. What are the basics that I should be bringing? Do I need to saftey wire anything on the smr, replace the coolant? anything Im not thinking of?

Bueller
Mon Jul 16th, 2007, 07:12 PM
Nothing is required to ride at IMI (except helmet, jacket and gloves) although axle and handlebar slider will save you some grief and prevent surface damage if you should taste asphault. The safety wire is a good thing, and if you were to wet the track it would be nice if it wasn't antifreeze because that is such a bitch to clean up.

krod
Mon Jul 16th, 2007, 10:01 PM
Thanks, I think I know what I need, but would like to hear from someone else. What are the basics that I should be bringing? Do I need to saftey wire anything on the smr, replace the coolant? anything Im not thinking of?

Bring fresh tires ,some ballz and stay away from DAVE :slappers:

Filo
Tue Jul 17th, 2007, 09:57 AM
Stay away from both Krod and Bueller. They both crash frequently. They claim it is because they are "fast", but really it is because they are "bad riders". They get all scared and jittery when there are bigger bikes on the track too, so you might want to pretend yours is a 250.