PDA

View Full Version : Bike Repair

dm_gsxr
Thu Jan 17th, 2008, 08:15 PM
My clutch slave cylinder needs its gasket replaced. I disassembled it and plopped out the old one, pulled the gasket off and zipped on down to order a replacement. Got the replacement yesterday so today I'm in the garage to put the cylinder back together. I get the gasket back on but the damned thing appears to be a size too large to fit into the cylinder. I heated the gasket (it's just a rubber ring) to make it softer, leaned on the cylinder while I poked the edges of the gasket into the opening until it's all tucked in and it's just too bulged out to slide into the cylinder.

Any other home mechanic type suggestions?

I don't want to push down so hard it ruins the gasket and it's somewhat slick so too much uneven pressure causes it to lean one way or the other.

Thanks.

Carl

ChickenStrip
Thu Jan 17th, 2008, 08:31 PM
I'm an Auto Tech and I can't tell you how many times I got the wrong part. I have to wonder how much is a new slave cylinder compared to that gasket plus your time rebuilding the slave cylinder. With a brand new part they normally come with a warrenty so if there is a problem later down the road you can replace it for free. I know the seal is super cheap but it most likely will not last as long as replacing the assembly. Also you need to put a higher value on your time. Your time is more valuable than money.

dm_gsxr
Thu Jan 17th, 2008, 09:38 PM
That is true however you don't always know just how much time or frustration it takes to do something so you don't know just how valuable your time (and sanity) is :D

While I was typing my original message, I had a little idea. I posted the message anyway just to see if I could get replies but in the mean time I gave it a shot.

I took a wood clamp and clamped an end in the vice I have mounted to my workbench. The wood clamp's heads are just wide enough to exert pressure all around the piston.