PDA

View Full Version : Question about some parts I want to get....

madvlad
Fri Feb 1st, 2008, 08:02 PM
Well I want to do the most commonly bought parts for bikes, Power Commander, exhaust and maybe a sprocket set for my bike. HOWEVER what I want to know is if I get a slip-on instead of a full exhaust and use the power commander, would I see at least somewhat of a performance increase or are slip-ons just for noise as so many people have told me? I'm just plain confused cause some people tell me: "yes that I will see improvements" and other people tell me that it's a waste of time and money. I just want to get crisp sound, performance and just a smooth ride cause the stock is just not doing it for me anymore. THANKS IN ADVANCE GUYS/GIRLS!

Vehicle 1
Fri Feb 1st, 2008, 09:06 PM
I am no expert, but: I think that the power commander is better for smoothness rather than for power, maybe you will gain some power at certain rpms if your current maping is way off. Personally I have only noticed smoothness.
The slip-on allows for a little more speed up top, at least on my bikes (it seems to not restrict acceleration as much as the stock) but you won't feel much at "normal" speeds. I would say that weight and "better" sound are the main motivation. You may get some back fire with a slip-on, and I am not sure if the mapping can avoid that.
The full system can improve performance and reduce a lot of weight (I have heard from other riders), but I could not tell you for sure since I have never had a full system installed.
You can find good deals on PCIII and slip-ons, I think it is worth it. Try hardracing.com, you may find what you are looking for...
Just my .02

D.

Matrix
Fri Feb 1st, 2008, 10:08 PM
I noticed the same thing with my slip on and PCIII. No major power increase just a smooth throttle. I also did a -1+2 520 chain conversion and that helped the lower end of my gsxr750. My top speed is reduced because of this change but how often do you need to do 150+.