PDA

View Full Version : Changing out brake lines

surfinspacegirl
Wed Apr 30th, 2003, 12:50 PM
I bought some Goodridge steel lines for the SVS and am planning to put them on the bike this w/e, along with new EBC pads 8)

I've never done anything like this before, so having read through all the "How To"s I can find on bleeding brakes, I'm wondering if anyone can give me any additional "personal experience" pointers to make the process of getting the brake fluid into the new lines as painless as possible?

And now for some really dumb questions :oops: :

1) what size tubing will I need? I'm guessing since the bleed nipple needs
an 8mm wrench to loosen it, a similar size?
2) How much brake fluid should I get? I need to replace the old stuff, as
it's really manky, and have some extra for (ahem) newbie "incidents"
3) Any pointers on installing the new pads? Something else I've never done before...

UglyDogRacing
Wed Apr 30th, 2003, 12:53 PM
Hannah- if you want to come by my place, I can do them for you.

surfinspacegirl
Wed Apr 30th, 2003, 01:03 PM
Hannah- if you want to come by my place, I can do them for you.

I thought you were racing this w/e :?

Thanks for the offer :D but it's really something I want to do myself - it's the best way to learn! :)

Anonymous
Wed Apr 30th, 2003, 01:07 PM
ssg you might want to take milehigh up on it your first time doing this. It's not technically hard to do, but you want to avoid things like contaminating the brake fluid, and at all costs getting air in the lines. Air in the brakes = you not stopping, plus the air will heat and cause your brakes to squeeze down at fairly bad times. Otherwise just keep the fluid off your fairings, cause it destroys paint like nothing else.

surfinspacegirl
Wed Apr 30th, 2003, 01:19 PM
ssg you might want to take milehigh up on it your first time doing this.