PDA

View Full Version : Confessions of a newbish rider

mtnairlover
Wed Jun 25th, 2008, 02:18 PM
Note: No flames allowed.

This idea has crossed my mind over the past couple of months and I've finally remembered and actually am sitting at a computer to type out my thoughts.

We haven't talked about this as a group, on this forum in a while and I think it's a good subject to bring up every now and then.

I've been riding for 3 years now. I got my start on the back of a co-worker's GoldWing and then got hooked on the idea of sport bikes on the back of another friend's BMW. I took the MSF course in May of '05 and loved learning to ride. That was my first time actually riding, though...and being the "old dog" that I am, I was kinda nervous I would fail miserably. I didn't and got my endorsement. I've come to realize that not everyone who rides has taken an MSF course and is learning the "rules of the road" through friends and relations. That's "ok" to a point, but I think understanding the basic concepts of riding on 2 wheels versus in 4 wheels is very important and not all of those concepts tend to get passed on between friends. That's where the idea of taking a motorcycle course makes a whole lot more sense.

Anyhoo, so I got turned on to this club through another friend who was on his way to Iraq in '06. By the summer, I was ready to meet people in my area and do some group rides. I had been riding by myself up to that point and it was ok, but I wanted to learn more. I got lucky enough to meet Bat (Deb) and TurboGizzmo (Chris), who are in my area. Before we met for our first ride, Deb suggested we all read The Pace...http://www.motorcyclistonline.com/flashback/122_0911_the_pace_nick_ienatsch/index.html What a great read that article was and still is. I highly recommend it to anyone who rides. Riding with Deb and Chris was a great way for me to learn how to ride in groups.