PDA

View Full Version : Ducati 750SSie mods

Polumbian
Tue Jun 3rd, 2003, 11:18 PM
Some of you have met me, thanks for the warm greetings. Although I am still new to bikes, I come from a background in modifying watercooled VWs. I have a 2000 750SSie, stock other than the aftermarket pipes it came with, and would like to think about a few mods. Not that I need much more, but I'd like to have it just for those times...

Now mind you I'm not thinking about anything major i.e. an engine swap. But what about the brakes (they need help, and Hoopty knows this) braided lines, etc.? Can you 'chip' a bike? And what's with the vented clutch covers? Etc., etc., etc.???

Thanks, Walker

DucBloke
Wed Jun 4th, 2003, 09:09 PM
I have a 92 900SS. Some of the mods I"ve done would work well for you as well.

1. The stock sprockets on Ducs are too small for emmissions reasons. Go up 4 teeth.

2. High compression pistons work well, but big bore kits with the pistons really wake it up. I have a 944 kit with 11:1's

3. Braided brake lines make the brakes feel much stiffer.

4. Open the airbox and put a K&N in.

5. Lighten the flywheel and the clutch. The vented cover is nice and loud! Love it!

Polumbian
Thu Jun 5th, 2003, 09:59 PM
Thanks for the tips. I've done a little research, but aftermaket Duc parts are few and far between compared to other bikes. What I've found so far:

My stock gearing is 15/37?, and I've found a few to change to 15/39 and one 15/40...am I on the right track? You said go up four teeth....

Pistons/Big bore kits- no results.

Braided brake lines- just need to choose and order.

Already droped in a K&N, but I've read that the stock airboxes are restrictive due to noise... hmm...

Found one lightened flywheel, but no clutches yet. The vented covers can be found on ebay all day (carbon fiber), any comments?