PDA

View Full Version : Dirt Noob seeks long walks on the beach

sky_blue
Mon Oct 6th, 2008, 10:51 AM
Damn you Dave...

What dirt bike should I get for doing trails and possibly also a SUMO setup?

I am a DIRT NOOB. Also, I would want to do things like ride this bike on the pavement from say Fort Collins to Buena Vista without getting smooshed. Would like to haul bare minimum camping gear along also.

Also, I am a wimpy girl, and while I might be able to ride a lowered KLR, I probably couldn't pick it up off the ground.

So maybe:
-Kawasaki KLX 250S
-Kawasaki 250SF (motard set up - sexy!!!)
-Suzuki DRZ400
-Suzuki DRZ 400 SM (motard - not as cute as the Kawi)
-KTM___________??? (I like orange)
-Husky_______??
-Other?

250 just seems small…

New or used? Does it matter?

PhL0aTeR
Mon Oct 6th, 2008, 12:48 PM
i think any one of the smaller bikes would be too buzzy at highway speeds, but im just going off of my buddies DRZ and his complains riding it from peyton to the springs.... lol

BigE
Mon Oct 6th, 2008, 02:04 PM
As a dirt noob, stick with dirt wheels, the bikes are cheaper and easier to ride off road. Sky, you're also asking alot for a bike that is a compromise to begin with. Off road you want light, easy handling, etc. On road, more power, smoothness, and the like.
Personally speaking I'd say get a 250 to start off on and a pickup to haul all your gear.
Fwiw, you can have a ton of fun playing sumo with just dualsport tires, they just get really sketchy once you start racing on them.

sky_blue
Mon Oct 6th, 2008, 02:26 PM
I want it all!!!

And I can probably talk hubby into buying me a 250...but he's not gonna buy me a pickup truck...: (

Saturday, cruising down Stove Prarie, we passed the turnoff to Pennock Pass. Everytime I go past this road I want to go that way and see what's up there. But the road is only paved for a couple hundred yards.

Maybe I should just get a 250 and find out if this dirt thing is for me or not.

sky_blue
Mon Oct 6th, 2008, 02:56 PM