PDA

View Full Version : Gearing ???

surfinspacegirl
Tue Jun 10th, 2003, 03:41 PM
OK, I'm looking at doing a 520 conversion on the SV, but need some advice on gearing...Hoopty? Anyone else? :D

Anonymous
Tue Jun 10th, 2003, 03:43 PM
Try dropping one in the front ... makes a nice improvement. Or go up 3 in the back, it's about the same. Don't go more than one down @ front though as it puts more stress on the chain to bend tighter.

surfinspacegirl
Tue Jun 10th, 2003, 03:54 PM
Try dropping one in the front ... makes a nice improvement. Or go up 3 in the back, it's about the same. Don't go more than one down @ front though as it puts more stress on the chain to bend tighter.

:lol: Thanks, Ralph, but remeber you'e talking to a gearing newbie here.

:idea:

Going -1 at the front will do what? The front sprocket will turn faster, thus pulling the rear wheel faster..... better acceleration???? :?

Going +3 in the back will do what? Front sprocket turns the same speed as before, rear wheel has a larger sprocket so turns further with each revolution....more power???? :?

Help :oops:

yakuza
Tue Jun 10th, 2003, 03:54 PM
It's going to vary by track, but I bet Jurgen would have some good baselines for you. I'd bet one down in the front would be a good starting point, although I'm not very familiar with the SV. I went down 1 in front and up 2 in the rear on my bike, and it's still geared too tall for PPIR and SCR, I'll probably get a 50 tooth for the rear.

yakuza
Tue Jun 10th, 2003, 03:58 PM
It's a ratio between the front and rear sprockets, dropping teeth on the front will have the same impact on the ratio as adding teeth in the rear. And yes, you are on the right track with your thoughts on the effects of changing the teeth.

There's a handy Excel spreadsheet gearing calculator floating around the 'Net, I've got a copy here:
http://www.3dstickfight.com/F4i/