PDA

View Full Version : So whats everyone do for work????

Tipys
Fri Dec 19th, 2008, 06:08 PM
Hey I am just wondering what everyone does for work, why they got into what your doing?

I only ask cause I my current career choose in the auto industry isnt going where I would like it to go. By no fault of my own. So I am planing on going back to school just dont know for what yet.

Any firefighters or EMT's if there are any out there I would really like to hear from you cause I thought about doing that before I went into the auto industry.

jbnwc
Fri Dec 19th, 2008, 06:21 PM
I'm a finance/investment trainer. I got into this after mutual fund analysis and later invesment consulting. I've always loved playing with money, investing, saving, etc. and like helping other people do more with their money and help them invest/save.

A finance degree opens up a lot of possibilities and I'd imagine in 4 years the cycle of finance jobs will be speeding up again. Obviously the immediate future is pretty bleak for finance professionals.

To be good at it, though, you have to enjoy the topics that most people find pretty boring - stocks, bonds, funds, insurance, tax, etc. I can put most people to sleep pretty quick just by talking about my job.

Mista Black
Fri Dec 19th, 2008, 07:17 PM
In deciding what you want to do with the rest of your life, you need to first figure out what you want and what success is for you. For me, it's putting forth the least amount of effort for the most amount of money I can get. Since I graduated high school that's been my goal and I think I've done pretty well. I'm WAY over paid for the little bit of zero stress & exertion work I do.

This was the right path for me, because I get zero fulfillment from my job and don't want to. Each person needs to discover what they want for themselves. I know there are people who can't be happy without the killer job, and more power to them for it. Someone has to do it, I just don't want it to be me.