PDA

View Full Version : Can someone explain?

TFOGGuys
Wed Feb 18th, 2009, 09:49 AM
Can anyone explain in small words (I AM a motorcycle mechanic) exactly HOW borrowing nearly 1 TRILLION dollars is somehow supposed to rescue our economy?Isn't this a lot like refinancing your way to financial health? Assuming that interest is being paid on this debt (mostly to China), aren't our elected officials merely creating an illusion of improved economic health, and setting us up for an even bigger fall at some time in the future? I understand that in the short term (5-10 years) it will create and preserve jobs, and may give American industry some breathing room to make some changes in the way they do business, but really, is anything of value being accomplished here, or is it just feel good hearts and flowers bullshit? Or will the stimulus package merely overheat the economy and help gather speed for an even bigger crash?

I have been relatively fortunate in that my business has not been seriously damaged by the financial panic, so my view may be a bit skewed. I have a theory (conspiracy, maybe) that the current economic climate would not be so gloomy, had it not been for the media doing their very best chicken little impersonation. In hyping the severity of the situation, has the media helped create a self fulfilling prophecy? Are we creating this financial storm because we are reacting to the media's assertion that the recession was inevitable?

I actually started thinking about this when the weather forecasters got it wrong yet again this morning. I have to wonder if economists are cut from the same cloth.....

/random ponderings

Devaclis
Wed Feb 18th, 2009, 09:51 AM
Are we borrowing the money from China? I have not seen this verified anywhere. I am not sure China has 1 trillion to lend.

rforsythe
Wed Feb 18th, 2009, 09:57 AM