PDA

View Full Version : Best hand gun?

Vehicle 1
Fri Feb 27th, 2009, 06:51 PM
I'm thinking about getting a hand gun, and just in case things keep changing I better get it soon...

I've had these recommended:

Sig
HK
Springfield (XDM)
Glock

I am not a gun expert, so I would love some opinions on what would be a good gun and model to by, compact and practical. User friendly when cleaning time comes. Mostly for home safety. 9mm probably. Maybe I'll get a concealed weapon permit in the future.

Not looking into spending more than $800, second hand is an option.

I do have experience shooting all sorts of guns from friends, and my 22 revolver.

Any good places to start looking if I need it somewhat soon?

Any old threads that I have missed would work, either way I would love some insight, thanks!

Marauder
Fri Feb 27th, 2009, 07:13 PM
Glock 23...

Never jams, hits the bullseye out of the box, good-sized grip but still compact. Don't listen to people that say "they're not all that". Everyone talks about Glocks because everyone has one. And everyone has one for a reason. CZ is good but stay away from .40 compact (CZ75 compact); nothing but FTE and FTL problems. My choice in 9mm is Sig.

dirkterrell
Fri Feb 27th, 2009, 07:20 PM
This is like asking what the best bike is. :)

My carry weapon is a Glock 30 (.45 ACP). Accurate and reliable. You're welcome to try it sometime. Sig makes good pistols too.

Dirk

Vehicle 1
Fri Feb 27th, 2009, 07:27 PM
thanks for the info guys

This is like asking what the best bike is. :)

+1 lol

I tried to narrow it down a little

the Sig keeps coming up. I may be able to test one, I am very curious.

cheers

dirkterrell
Fri Feb 27th, 2009, 07:45 PM
the Sig keeps coming up. I may be able to test one, I am very curious.

I have a buddy with a P226 (9mm) and I'm sure he'd be willing to let you try it. It's a full-size model though. Very nice gun.

Dirk

The Black Knight
Fri Feb 27th, 2009, 07:46 PM