PDA

View Full Version : Ticket Advice????

RayCer
Sun Mar 1st, 2009, 06:16 PM
OK, so here is the deal. I have been riding street for 18 years and have never got a ticket (guess it was my time). I just got an 01 Ducati 996 last week and decided to take it out today for a quick cruise. Of course, I forget to bring my new registration (done Thursday) and my insurance.

I am following an SUV in front of me (its about 20 yards ahead) and there is a car a few feet behind me to the right. We are all doing the same speed. I notice the SUV hits its brakes, so i slow down as well, thats when an officer pulls on the road from a small inlet on the left side. And of course, I get pulled over (Bright Red bike, blah, blah, blah).

She says that i was doing 54 in a 40, writes me a ticket for that, no proof of Insurance and for driving without an endorsement (don't flame me, mine didnt transfer from WA when i moved here and i havent got around to it).

She hands me my ticket, mandatory court date. After she gives me my copy, she realizes that she is missing info on the ticket. She then procedes to write down the year, make, model, color and VIN of my bike on her copy (my copy has none of that info on it). She also puts the wrong address down on the ticket (i have a sticker on the back with my corrected address, which i told her).

I know its a long winded story, but I could use any advice or contacts that any fellow riders might have that could help me get out of this. Thanks in advance for any help!!

Sully
Sun Mar 1st, 2009, 06:51 PM
That sucks :( I'm surprised there is a mandatory court date with only 14 over, but what do I know. Did she actually radar you going that fast ? Is your record clear ? You may be able to go in with your registration and proof of insurance and maybe plea it all down. What county ?

Oh btw, get your mc endorsement too ! :)

Airreed
Sun Mar 1st, 2009, 06:57 PM