PDA

View Full Version : GP shift

LambeauXLIV
Tue Mar 3rd, 2009, 11:27 PM
Made the change today...I can't see how I had it the other way for so long :drool:

What do you have?

D Berns R6
Tue Mar 3rd, 2009, 11:29 PM
I felt the same way when I switched from normal to gp my third race weekend in 07'....will never go back!

cromer611
Wed Mar 4th, 2009, 12:08 AM
GP fo LIFE!

racedk6
Wed Mar 4th, 2009, 01:08 AM
Switched mine 3 months after I started riding, 4 1/2 years later I still dont know why bikes come with that 1 down 5 up stuff

Spiderman
Wed Mar 4th, 2009, 03:03 AM
... I still dont know why bikes come with that 1 down 5 up stuff
... :imwithstupid:

I switched in '03 after 7 years of riding. Took me a little while to get used to, but it very quickly seemed so much more natural (just took a while to un-learn the "wrong" way :lol: )

Bueller
Wed Mar 4th, 2009, 05:46 AM
The question that never gets old :slappers:

DevilsTonic
Wed Mar 4th, 2009, 06:16 AM
Thanks to Spiderman my bike is GP Shift and has been for 2 years, I won't switch it back EVAR! Took me about a week to get used to it, hit a few wrong gears and had some pucker moments but I love it!

Devaclis
Wed Mar 4th, 2009, 06:41 AM
What is really fun is riding it stock for years then switching. Please post back about how many times you downshifted on accident and shit your pants.

Don't forget the pics.

DevilsTonic
Wed Mar 4th, 2009, 06:44 AM
I didn't have the splatter cam on when I down shifted on accident. Luckily the '05 R1 is a little more forgiving than the earlier models. I accidentally down shifted once my first track day at pueblo and a few times in traffic on die-25. I was picking vinyl out of my booty hole for weeks.

Devaclis
Wed Mar 4th, 2009, 06:48 AM
haha I have done it on a couple of bikes that were setup for GP.

Me, I never did it to any of my bikes. I had no need to. I do not race nor do I need hte "ground clearance" that GP provides.

TopTier
Wed Mar 4th, 2009, 07:00 AM