PDA

View Full Version : New snowboard?

Wyck
Wed Mar 4th, 2009, 01:14 PM
Ok so I'm brand new to snowboarding been 4 times but am totally hooked. I am still horrible and switching boards each time I rent is throwing off my learning curve. There are some killer deals right now so I am trying to decide which of these two boards to buy. They are both %50 off bringing them to $150 each. The 149 Burton feather is a beginner women's all mountain board and the 147 Ride rapture is a beginner women's freestyle board. I have been mostly riding a 145 mens burton cruzer as my rental but last time rode a 147 ride fever that I was definitely not ready for as it was waay to easy to catch an edge. Let me know what you think and why.

Mother Goose
Wed Mar 4th, 2009, 01:19 PM
Ok so I'm brand new to snowboarding been 4 times but am totally hooked. I am still horrible and switching boards each time I rent is throwing off my learning curve. There are some killer deals right now so I am trying to decide which of these two boards to buy. They are both %50 off bringing them to $150 each. The 149 Burton feather is a beginner women's all mountain board and the 147 Ride rapture is a beginner women's freestyle board. I have been mostly riding a 145 mens burton cruzer as my rental but last time rode a 147 ride fever that I was definitely not ready for as it was waay to easy to catch an edge. Let me know what you think and why.
I say the Feather. I love Burton boards and I think an all-mountain is good for a beginner, won't be as "titchy" as a freestyle board.

Matty
Wed Mar 4th, 2009, 01:24 PM
Wyck.... send me a PM with your number and i'll give ya some advice. I'm a rep in the snowboard industry.

Panman06
Wed Mar 4th, 2009, 01:33 PM
What type of riding will you be doing? (or a majority) Starting out on a taller board will provide more stability at speed, but harder to turn. Shorter boards can be tossed around but require skill at speed.