PDA

View Full Version : Bad alternator? What do you think?

Hoopty
Wed Jan 26th, 2005, 09:17 AM
So I hadn't driven my 92 Ranger for a while (6+ months?), and when I went to start it, the battery was dead. Battery was like 7 years old, so it was ready to be replaced regardless. Anyway, I bought a new battery for it a week or two ago, and had noticed the last few days I drove it that the battery sounded like it was going out when I started it in the morning (sounded slow, like almost not enough juice to turn her over). Today when I went to start it, it was pretty much dead. The starter turned over a few times really slow, then just started clicking. Do you think the alternator just isn't charging the battery, and it eventually died? :dunno: Please give me your thoughts, I'm no mechanic... :oops: :lol:

Kim-n-Dean
Wed Jan 26th, 2005, 09:20 AM
So I hadn't driven my 92 Ranger for a while (6+ months?), and when I went to start it, the battery was dead. Battery was like 7 years old, so it was ready to be replaced regardless. Anyway, I bought a new battery for it a week or two ago, and had noticed the last few days I drove it that the battery sounded like it was going out when I started it in the morning (sounded slow, like almost not enough juice to turn her over). Today when I went to start it, it was pretty much dead. The starter turned over a few times really slow, then just started clicking. Do you think the alternator just isn't charging the battery, and it eventually died? :dunno: Please give me your thoughts, I'm no mechanic... :oops: :lol:

Start it and put a volt-meter on the battery. If the alternator is putting out full current, the volt-meter will read about 14volts. Anything less and the alternator is not charging properly.

Hoopty
Wed Jan 26th, 2005, 09:26 AM
I don't have a volt-meter. :| Maybe my room mate does? :dunno:

AshliRider44
Wed Jan 26th, 2005, 09:28 AM
Pretty sure he said that he does babe.. if not then I have one at the parents' house ;)

Mel