PDA

View Full Version : Drilling new plastics / fiberglass

sugarrey
Wed Jun 3rd, 2009, 10:47 AM
So I have new bodywork, but none of the holes are drilled. What is the proper way to go about drilling and fitting so they can be mounted? I have NO experience at this so any help would be appreciated. I want to get them drilled and fitted before they see paint I am guessing.

Anyone have experience that could lend some advice?

Spiderman
Wed Jun 3rd, 2009, 10:54 AM
Are there indents where the holes should be? Most, if not all the race bodywork I've ever seen has them.

Step drill bits work well (unfortunately I loaned mine out & never got em back :| ).

konichd
Wed Jun 3rd, 2009, 10:58 AM
Step drill bits and a laser mounted to mark the hole. It will take some time but it will be done right the first time and its worth it in the end.

sugarrey
Wed Jun 3rd, 2009, 11:55 AM
wow. i might be in trouble if i try this myself.

Sully
Wed Jun 3rd, 2009, 12:15 PM
If you're worried, call Rybo, see if he's still available for side work ?

sugarrey
Wed Jun 3rd, 2009, 12:22 PM
i dont want to f* it up. Id rather watch and learn the first time. Ill do that, thanks Sully

Graphite675
Wed Jun 3rd, 2009, 12:38 PM
I used a step drill on mine with no problems. Think I put a bit of tape over the area also to keep the fiberglass from chipping around the hole when I drilled and it worked fine.

Sean
Wed Jun 3rd, 2009, 12:40 PM
What's a step drill (bit)?

<---dumb guy here

Graphite675
Wed Jun 3rd, 2009, 12:45 PM
What's a step drill (bit)?

<---dumb guy here

Looks like this....

Sean
Wed Jun 3rd, 2009, 12:52 PM
Looks like this....
Thanks Graphite. :up:

bulldog
Wed Jun 3rd, 2009, 01:10 PM
I have never used a step drill. I just put masking tape around the area and drill on top of that. Never had any issues with them messing up my plastics and I have done it multiple times.

Yup, laser pointer method works best for figuring out where the holes should go.

highpsi03
Wed Jun 3rd, 2009, 01:16 PM