PDA

View Full Version : Engine Case Guards?

Buddau
Mon Feb 21st, 2005, 08:21 PM
I am going to race in the MRA this year on my '03 CBR600RR.
I have read the latest MRA rules for 2005. In section 6.2.6.K, It says All models with VULNERABLE wet cases need case guards.
Both sides are "wet" cases on a RR. But my frame sliders are very close to the cases. It would seem very dificult for the cases to be damaged in a crash. I do not want to make a mess on the track, nor do I want to spend money on things I do not need. I'll get case guards if I need them. I have seen pictures of other race RR's in other race clubs with out case guards.
But I am new to this, so I ask you pros.
Does a HondaCBR600RR need case guards in the MRA?

Lel
Mon Feb 21st, 2005, 08:40 PM
Specifically on your bike I could not say. But put it this way, do you want 100 angry racers saying it was you that put oil through the turn?

I have seen 2 bikes go down and wear through a case cover, the are super thin. I would recommend putting one on.

lel

Lurch
Mon Feb 21st, 2005, 08:52 PM
Yes you need case covers. Framesliders break off pretty often. Just price whats behind those case and case covers are a cheap investment.

Lurch

Anonymous
Mon Feb 21st, 2005, 08:53 PM
You need left side at a minimum, right side is strongly recommended. You do NOT want to dump 3 quarts of oil down two hundred feet of track - believe me, if you do and can still walk afterwards, you will be out there stomping oil dry into the track along with a bunch of pissed off cornerworkers.

I suggest you contact Bart McKiernan at TK Motorsports, he's the VP of Rules and Tech. Give him a ring at 720-904-9040 and ask him about your particular bike, since if you don't have what he says you need, you won't pass tech.

Buddau
Mon Feb 21st, 2005, 08:58 PM
I don't want to piss any one off!
I'll get some case gaurds ASAP!
Thanks for the replys.

Lurch
Mon Feb 21st, 2005, 09:03 PM