PDA

View Full Version : WIND QUESTION

IT WASN'T ME!
Thu Jun 25th, 2009, 11:52 AM
I was riding home on Tuesday when I ran into a thunderstorm. I was sort of skirting the western edge of the storm when I was hit by some microburst winds and heavy rain. The wind almost pushed me off the road. I have a lot of experience riding in strong crosswinds, but not on a wet road and not on a fully fared bike. My question is; do I have to worry about the wind blowing the bike right out from under me? It sure feels like I do.

McVaaahhh
Thu Jun 25th, 2009, 11:53 AM
I've hit some pretty good wind myself and I doubt it would blow the bike out from under you. It will blow you off the road though...

Troy.N
Thu Jun 25th, 2009, 12:21 PM
You dont have to worry about the wind blowing under you, as long as your as FAT BOY like Brian.

mtnairlover
Thu Jun 25th, 2009, 01:13 PM
I actually had a run in with some sort of microburst. Not sure if that's what it was, but my bike sure felt like it was going to be taken right out from under me. It wasn't a rain storm either, just wiind. I was riding north on I25 back in '07 after a long trip back from Durango. It was in the evening, maybe ~7'ish. As I got north of Longmont (for some reason the air tends to feel different the further north of town you get), and I was in the left lane just cruising along, I realized the wind was picking up. So, I got closer to my tank and since I have a semi-naked bike, there isn't much protection anyway, I was pretty much hugging as much as I could hug the tail bag on my tank. All of a sudden a wind burst caught my bike just right, at the wheels, and blew the bike (and me with it) over about a foot, which was just about skirting the white line before the grassy median.

Now, my bike isn't a light bike, weighing in at 425#s dry and even though I was 30#s lighter back then, I was still not your typical runway model sized person.