PDA

View Full Version : A newbie and those sunday rides

oldgeezer
Sat Jul 25th, 2009, 10:36 AM
I am just learning to ride--under 500 miles--and am indeed an old geezer. I want to get more experience. Is the weekly Sunday ride appropriate? I don't want to be holding up the group, but I would like the compnay of more experienced riders for tips, moral support and of course fun. If anyone has any comments, please share.

brennahm
Sat Jul 25th, 2009, 10:43 AM
The best advice I can give is just ride as much as possible. With less than a thousand miles under your belt you should be hitting empty parking lots and uncrowded roads as much as you can. Make it your job! Use any excuse to make runs to the grocery store, quickie mart, bank, etc.

When you are starting to feel truly comfortable just hopping on the bike to run down the road, then start looking for noob friendly canyon rides.

ALWAYS ride your own pace. If you don't know what that means...use google. Hope to see you out there!

Also, feel free to post a ride (time, place, destination) and try to get people to go along.

= Buckeye Jess =
Sat Jul 25th, 2009, 11:05 AM
I am a new member so pardon the naivete. I am an old guy but a new rider. I've got a bit less then 500 miles in. I s the Sunday ride an appropriate place to get more experience now, or is there a better way? I know you said slowr riders are welcome and I am sure I fit that description, but I have no point of reference to say how much slower. Should I get more experience before joining the Sunday rides? You will not hurt my feelings in the least with your answer. I would be very embarassed to be holding up the whole ride. Thanks, Old Geezer.
I stole this from the other thread to put in the more appropriate one.... so now....