PDA

View Full Version : Electrician question

mtnairlover
Mon Aug 10th, 2009, 02:54 PM
What does it take ($) to replace aluminum wiring at the fuse box? I've got some issues with a townhome I put a bid on and it's bank-owned. I want the bank to take care of it, but being a bank-owned property, they don't like to take care of squat.

The thing is, it's a fire hazard.

This is what the inspector said:

Neutrals are bundles in neutral buss. 220v breaker for A/C does not have a handle tie. GFI breaker does not trip when tested. 110 volt conductors are aluminum. Recommend electrical system be evaluated and repaired by licensed electrician.

Anyone out there an electrician?

dirkterrell
Mon Aug 10th, 2009, 02:57 PM

Talk to Bueller.

Dirk

mtnairlover
Mon Aug 10th, 2009, 03:00 PM
Thanks.

Shea
Mon Aug 10th, 2009, 03:01 PM
I'm not an electrician, but I stayed at a Holiday Inn last night...

A handle tie is nothing. Easy fix.
GFI not tripping is relatively cheap and easy (unless it's wired wrong)
Rewiring the neutrals (think that's what he is saying) would just be labor.

Q: Are the conductors in the box aluminum or is he saying the distribution lines (that run to each outlet in the house) are aluminum?

If the former, a new box can be a couple hundred bucks. If its the latter you have to rewire the entire house with copper...$$$

mtnairlover
Mon Aug 10th, 2009, 03:03 PM
Pretty sure it's the former. The other answers you gave are basically what he described to me, as well.

Devaclis
Mon Aug 10th, 2009, 03:05 PM
Psh, I can do it. I am gonna need a few beers first, then I will go at it.

Shea
Mon Aug 10th, 2009, 03:07 PM
Psh, I can do it. I am gonna need a few beers first, then I will go at it.

DONT DO IT! You try to turn on your garbage disposal and the headlights on your neighbors car turn on...

Shea
Mon Aug 10th, 2009, 03:07 PM
Pretty sure it's the former. The other answers you gave are basically what he described to me, as well.