PDA

View Full Version : Looking to get into dirt bikes, where to start?

Performance Imagery
Wed Sep 29th, 2010, 02:02 AM
Hey guys, with the family and work, I've not had any time to ride the street bike. Looking at getting the family into dirt bikes as a family activity ( so i can at least ride something!). I know nothing about dirt bikes or the like, so I'm a real noob.

for starters I'd like to find a bike for myself and one bike for our 7 and 8 year old daughters. I'm not looking for the biggest or fastest and just need something that would allow us to start riding. I can always upgrade bikes later on if it is a hit.

So, what types of bikes should I be looking at? I have thought about trading in my R6 to fund/help fund the entry into dirt bikes.

Thanks,

Keith

Bueller
Wed Sep 29th, 2010, 07:23 AM
You could buy my 2001 KTM 300 for < $2k and have one of he finest trail bikes made. It is titled and plated.

I don't have kids so I don't have anything for you on that front except get the an auto clutch type bike for them to learn on.

Matty
Wed Sep 29th, 2010, 07:58 AM
For the kids at age 7 or 8. If tall enough, I'd recommend nothing smaller than. 70cc. Head over to Fay Myers and have them sit on a few different bikes.

Sean
Wed Sep 29th, 2010, 08:18 AM
For you, I might look into a 250, 4 stroke. Just like street 600's, the brands are farily similar with quality and reliability. For starting out I'd stay away from 2 strokes. Also, decide if you want to plate it/ride it on the street at all, that'll make a big difference in your selection and possibly size.

For your daughter(s), check out the little 50-80 cc's with an auto clutch. Craigs List usually has a bunch of them since kids grow up so fast.

Good luck!

Bueller
Wed Sep 29th, 2010, 08:31 AM
For starting out I'd stay away from 2 strokes.
Why? It is a light cheap minimal maintenance bike.

Sean
Wed Sep 29th, 2010, 08:40 AM