PDA

View Full Version : Astronomy buffs?

Mista Black
Wed Oct 20th, 2010, 08:25 AM
Are there any in the club?

dirkterrell
Wed Oct 20th, 2010, 08:37 AM
I do a little astronomy here and there...

Dirk

Sean
Wed Oct 20th, 2010, 08:44 AM
I do a little astronomy here and there...:lol: And Rossi rides a motorcycle here and there...

Mista Black
Wed Oct 20th, 2010, 08:54 AM
:pointlaugh:

Just getting ready to get a nice scope so seeing who's out there. I have a pair of astronomical binoculars at the moment and like em. Orion 25x100, but they don't see enough for me.

At the moment I'm planning on getting one of Orion's new 14" go to dobs, but I have been going back and forth and will likely keep doing so until I order (mid-December, probably). Last week it was a 10" Dob sitting on an Orion Atlas EQ-G mount.

What I end up with is anyone's guess, but it'll likely be the 14" dob.

Scer
Wed Oct 20th, 2010, 08:55 AM
I think I told you what I majored in right Jeff?? :)

gaze on gaze'as

Mista Black
Wed Oct 20th, 2010, 08:57 AM
When I get the scope, we'll have to plan a camping trip Mr Solis!!

dirkterrell
Wed Oct 20th, 2010, 09:15 AM
In terms of light gathering power, the 14" will get you a factor of two, or about 3/4 of a magnitude deeper. A smaller scope on a good mount will be much more useful than something bigger on a less capable mount. I have a 10" semi-robotic setup in the back yard. It's a Meade LX200GPS on a ~1 ton concrete pier I built myself. (It doesn't shake. ;))

It really depends on what you want to do with it. Sounds like visual observing but what you really want to do is variable star photometry. 8)

Dirk

Snowman
Wed Oct 20th, 2010, 09:26 AM
That or the ablity to talk to aliens...

Mista Black
Wed Oct 20th, 2010, 09:37 AM