PDA

View Full Version : Rocky Mountain Minimoto

mopoet178
Wed Nov 10th, 2010, 11:32 PM
As a college student, I dont see racing MRA to be within my budget for at least the next couple years. This gives me a chance to further invest in my technique as a minimoto racer!

http://www.rmminimoto.com/

I dont have a ride yet. From what little research I have done, it seems I can pull off a whole season of racing for less than $1500 including bike purchase.

I guess I am asking for any guidance. Is my cost assumption mostly correct? What's a good bike to ride? Whats it take to setup a basic racer? I see some pretty nice condition pocket bikes on craigslist for $300-400.

This should satisfy my competition fix until I can afford to race with MRA, plus it should teach me good perception and how to work with momentum instead of with horsepower. I think it would be really good for skill building.

Any experience with racing pocket bikes? I want to know everything relevant you have to say.

-Marsh

brennahm
Wed Nov 10th, 2010, 11:45 PM
Not to take anything away from RMMM, as I think it would be a blast and if I get a minibike I'd definitely give it a shot.

As far as really racing though, I can't imagine it has a whole lot to do with MRA or real motorcycle racing unless you get something like an NSR (and that's def not going to cost you $300-400).

Obviously I'm a fan of supermoto, but in reality, it gives you real bike skills and is about as cheap as it gets ($40 annual membership, $50 for first race each weekend). Furthermore, you actually have one of the largest and most active series in the nation right here in CO.

If you just have a hard on for racing and want to have a good time then RMMM would be my choice as well. I just wouldn't justify it with getting racing experience.

Finally, I've never raced minis and am totally willing to accept I may be way off point. If I am, I apologize and do not mean in any way to demean any other series.

mopoet178