PDA

View Full Version : EMT Certification

dragos13
Mon Jan 24th, 2011, 07:17 AM
Hey guys and girls,

Thinking about a career change and the first step I need to complete is obtaining my EMT cert. Anybody have any experience with this and maybe a reference on where to go and what it takes? Ralph?

Thanks in advance!!!

CaneZach
Mon Jan 24th, 2011, 07:29 AM
Talk to Jess

Sparker
Mon Jan 24th, 2011, 08:01 AM
If you want a pay cut, go for it. Starting EMT-B's make CRAP. EMT-Ps can make a good wage with pulling double or triple shifts. Ive got my P- cert along with an NREMT-P and would probably start at like 13/hr at AMR. Its def something good to know but after all said and done I finished my finance degree and am much happier in my current position.

dragos13
Mon Jan 24th, 2011, 08:14 AM
If you want a pay cut, go for it. Starting EMT-B's make CRAP. EMT-Ps can make a good wage with pulling double or triple shifts. Ive got my P- cert along with an NREMT-P and would probably start at like 13/hr at AMR. Its def something good to know but after all said and done I finished my finance degree and am much happier in my current position.

I understand where your opinion is coming from. Its just that I have done tech support for 10 years and honestly, a pay cut for a more exciting and rewarding job is well worth it in my books.

Can you tell me a good place to look into obtaining my EMT-B cert? Should I look into a college or can this be done through a department? Also, what do you know about the Firefighter 1 degree?

Sparker
Mon Jan 24th, 2011, 08:24 AM
i have the full Fire Science Technology degree, which is basically a 2 year degree. Down here in the springs it is incredibly hard to get on with the citys dept. Most FF actually work at AMR until they get on as a FF. FF1 is really a certificate.