PDA

View Full Version : Oil change

musclemutt99
Wed Feb 16th, 2011, 11:47 AM
I'm pretty new to all of this, just buying my bike last season (used).
I am looking into performing an oil change on my bike (2009 suzuki gsx-r 1000). The bike did not come with a users manual. I have been researching multiple forums and I think I have found pretty good instructions on how to actually perform the oil change. The issue that I am running into is finding replacement parts, such as the crush seal, oil filter etc. I have been to Suzuki's website, multiple dealer sites and so on with no luck of finding the parts needed. Any thoughts, suggestions on where to look, how to perform the oil change would be great! Thanks.

MetaLord 9
Wed Feb 16th, 2011, 11:53 AM
try Grand Prix, Performance, or Fay Myers. They'll have a filter for you. I've found filters at auto parts stores all the time too. You really don't need more than the filter & the oil. You can replace the crush seal, but it's really not necessary. I don't think I've replaced the one on my bike in four years and it doesn't leak a bit.

Oil change is pretty basic and shouldn't be too challenging.

Oh, and you don't need suzuki brand parts for anything. aftermarkets work just fine and are sometimes cheaper

Sarge
Wed Feb 16th, 2011, 11:57 AM
I just ordered a K&N oil filter for my bike off of Amazon for $10. Combined it with a movie for free shipping. ;)

OUTLAWD
Wed Feb 16th, 2011, 12:03 PM
I used to use the factory suzuki filters, but started using K&N oil filters because they have a hex on the end, and are ready for safety wire. Don't look at the sites, just call or stop in any Suzuki dealer, they should have the crush seal in stock (although I rarely replace them), as well as a filter.

asp_125
Wed Feb 16th, 2011, 12:04 PM
I'm pretty new to all of this, just buying my bike last season (used).