PDA

View Full Version : Very Small Oil Leak

DemonRider
Sun Apr 3rd, 2011, 08:42 AM
Ok, so when my bike gets going for a few miles and gets warm I noticed that there are two, yes two very small drops of oil sitting under the bike any ideas? there is also a small amount in fairing area and on the engine,,, im new to this stuff so be Nice:bananna::silly: if you need more info or pics, let me know i'll do whatever it takes...

OUTLAWD
Sun Apr 3rd, 2011, 09:06 AM
I would pull the fairings off and try to trace the source up from where you see the drips, can you confirm that its engine oil? If so, it could be the drain plug, or a banjo bolt for the external engine oil lines, maybe make sure your crankcase vent hose is hooked up, oil cooler fitting (if applicable). Otherwise I am not too familiar with your particular engine. If you have a repair manual, it a labeled picture of the engine might help find some of the oil retaining bolts/fittings.

tecknojoe
Sun Apr 3rd, 2011, 09:11 AM
Also look at the oil filter. sometimes they get put on too tight/loose and leak around the edges

Tylar
Sun Apr 3rd, 2011, 09:35 AM
On many vehicles I've been the victim of small particles on the drain plug that require me to pull it, again and wipe it off. Just enough crud to cause a very slow and small drop. :scream1:

DemonRider
Sun Apr 3rd, 2011, 10:06 AM
some pic's, it seems to be leaking from a little black rubber grommet with wires going into it???

OUTLAWD
Sun Apr 3rd, 2011, 10:28 AM
its hard to tell once enough oil is spread to collect dirt, so if you clean it all off, then run it again (with the rubber boot pulled back), you should see it start weeping. it will most likely either be the threads, or the sending unit itself is leaking and should be replaced

DemonRider
Sun Apr 3rd, 2011, 10:30 AM
I am assuming this is the "Oil Pressure Switch" ? But is it even possible for Oil to be coming out of this thing?

OUTLAWD
Sun Apr 3rd, 2011, 10:33 AM