PDA

View Full Version : New riders, saw this on another forum and thought it was great.

ian22
Tue May 10th, 2011, 04:12 PM
http://forums.sportrider.com/70/591801/new-riders/new-riders-please-read-this-updated/index.html

This issue crossed my mind once again as again someone I know bought a bike that is way too much. If you know someone who is new to sportbikes...maybe this article can talk some sense into them.

Ian

Swift
Wed May 11th, 2011, 12:59 AM
Some good info in there. My bike is my first street bike and has a lot of power for a starter bike. It's also fairly heavy compared to most of the supersports.

The difference though is I have 4 years of dirt experience on my belt and about a year or 2s worth of riding my buddies street bikes. Without any of that I'm pretty sure I would have ate shit by now.

Slo
Wed May 11th, 2011, 09:00 AM
I will probably be one of the only ones with this opinion on new riders and what bikes they get.

- crashes are mostly from not making turns or someone cutting them off, turning in front of them, etc.

- so no matter what bike you're on, if you can't make a particular turn at a certain speed, you will crash whether you're on a 125 or a 1400.

I think a first bike, as far as outright power goes, depends on the riders intentions/personality. I have seen people start on smaller bikes and crash, and have seen some start on bigger bikes and do fine.

Of course there are those that start on bigger bikes and crash nonetheless.

Spooph
Wed May 11th, 2011, 09:11 AM
I like that post...