PDA

View Full Version : Some venting with a question

zPurpleRoom
Thu Jun 9th, 2011, 11:59 PM
So I have been self employed for about two years now but looking for a decent job while I wait to get back into grad school. Employers have been super stingy with hiring quality people...while incompetent asshats clock in day-in and day-out; all the while bitching.

As a consultant, my rate is 75/hr but jobs aren't very steady. I finally got a great interview where the boss wants me to essentially "create my own position" within his parameters of about working on several different projects he wants completed. I know that I could be a great asset to the company. According to said boss, "corporate" is dragging their feet on approving a job description. He said he can hire a general labor worker without any approval. After a 30 day "trial" period, we could revisit the exempt position. The general labor position is 150 miles round trip from my house. The pay is roughly 20% of what my salary history has been. I am also generally concerned that this exempt position will just be a pipe dream.

Questions:
Do I suck up the "internship" and take the job for 30 days?
Is it worth the drive....an additional 3 hours after putting in a 11-12 hour day?
Am I better off just looking for something else? Because with this job, it'll be just work, dinner, sleep, repeat.

I've never been so confused with a job offer......errrrrrrrrr :confused:

Hopefully no one from CSC works for this company....that would be embarrassing. :oops:

Vellos
Fri Jun 10th, 2011, 01:01 AM
Your life. Do what you got to do or don't do what you don't want to do.

Squisha
Fri Jun 10th, 2011, 06:37 AM