PDA

View Full Version : 8/20 Memorial Ride/Fundraiser for Dave Camp's Daughter

GuitarX
Tue Jul 12th, 2011, 09:09 AM
Ride Details:

Meet at the Morrison Conoco (MoCo) at 8:00am, KSU 8:30am! Heading to Deckers for the ride, then getting back into town to ride over to the Walnut Room for the benefit concert/raffle/silent auction that starts at 12pm.

Hi everybody, I hope this is okay to post here...

As many of you are aware, Dave Camp (V4Whore on this forum) was killed on his motorcycle on 6/29/11. Dave left behind a really wonderful daughter (Alyssa) and I'd like to put something together to help her out a bit in this very hard transition time. We don't have to go overboard but I know we can think of a fun day for all involved and help her out at the same time.

I've never done anything like this before so I really don't know the best way to go about this. I was thinking along simple lines - a memorial ride ending up at one of the local bars/restaurants willing to work with us, some sort of raffle, and maybe even have a couple local bands play. I already know of at least one band who is willing to work this into their schedule and Sascha might as well.

Any help that anyone can offer would be awesome:

1) Ideas for fun/good fundraising events

2) A hosting location, preferably with a stage we can use (and maybe a sound person we can borrow?). I was thinking that Walnut Brewery might be a perfect spot to end up at since they have a nice stage and a parking lot which can accommodate a lot of bikes. Plus they work with the CSC on a lot of other stuff it seems. Does anyone here know those guys well enough to work with them on this, or have contacts at another good location?

3) Does anyone have any contacts at the local bike shops? Maybe we can get some gear or service from them to raffle off with all proceeds going to Dave's family?