PDA

View Full Version : Warning: Deer Crossing

Nooch
Wed Aug 24th, 2011, 01:22 PM
Hey all, my roommate and I decided to head out yesterday evening for a night ride and originally planned to head down 285 West from Morrison, but after debating for a bit we decided it might not be a smart move due to low light conditions and my own fear of hitting a deer or worse. So my question is, are there any other moderate Denver-area twisties that are still close enough to civilization that the risk of animals in the roadway is relatively low? I thought perhaps South Black Forest Highway? Im still fairly new to Colorado so Im not sure what to expect in terms of animal hazards. I don't think making venison was an intended purpose for my R6 lol! :tomato: Thanks!

salsashark
Wed Aug 24th, 2011, 01:27 PM
My recommendation is to not hit up the canyons around dawn or dusk. These are when the local fauna is most active. It doesn't matter where. Anywhere the human population dips, the animal population swells.

If you're timing only allows going out during these times, just slow down and take it easy.

grim
Wed Aug 24th, 2011, 01:34 PM
My recommendation is to not hit up the canyons around dawn or dusk. These are when the local fauna is most active. It doesn't matter where. Anywhere the human population dips, the animal population swells.

If you're timing only allows going out during these times, just slow down and take it easy.

+1 on my early am rides i always see deer on the side of the road but usually by the time im deep into the canyons the local deer have had their fill on food and what not and are headed back into the woods. If you ride at these times as salsashark said just take it easy. most of the time if they are on the side of the road they wont run from you they will just stand there so the next move can be pretty unpredictable.

Also be on the lookout for moose there are more around bearcreek and parmalee than people think and they will hurt a lot more than a deer!!