PDA

View Full Version : Scientists on trial in Italy for failing to predict earthquake...

Think
Tue Sep 20th, 2011, 06:48 PM
http://www.cnn.com/2011/09/20/world/europe/italy-quake-trial/index.html?hpt=hp_c1

I'm no scientist, but this seems ridiculous.

TinkerinWstuff
Tue Sep 20th, 2011, 08:22 PM
and what would the public have done had the scientists said, "some time within the next year, there will be an earthquake here"?

Half the population here won't even leave their homes for an impending hurricane.

everything always has to be someone's fault (pun intended)

fasterlaster
Tue Sep 20th, 2011, 08:31 PM
The scientists should argue with the "disaster film" theory. That nobody will listen to a crazy scientist who claims a horrible disaster will happen soon. (i.e. Dane's Peak, Volcano, Earthquake, etc)

That really is a silly trial.

Matrix
Tue Sep 20th, 2011, 08:33 PM
You would think as broke as this country seems to be that they wouldnt be wasting their money on stupid shit like this.

fasterlaster
Tue Sep 20th, 2011, 08:54 PM
I think the trial is actually in Italy.

Wrider
Tue Sep 20th, 2011, 10:11 PM
You would think as broke as this country seems to be that they wouldnt be wasting their money on stupid shit like this.

I think the trial is actually in Italy.

Still applies. Italy is on the verge of bankruptcy. Greece is only slightly worse off, and again I say slightly.

fasterlaster
Tue Sep 20th, 2011, 11:03 PM
Still applies. Italy is on the verge of bankruptcy. Greece is only slightly worse off, and again I say slightly.

Wasn't saying it didn't apply, just took Joe's post as written a bit different that I think he meant. Besides with earthquakes and such happening and no scientist to step up and predict the future I'm not surprised they are broke.

Ezzzzy1
Wed Sep 21st, 2011, 09:38 AM
and what would the public have done had the scientists said, "some time within the next year, there will be an earthquake here"?