PDA

View Full Version : building a traction control system

mopoet178
Mon Oct 10th, 2011, 12:28 PM
I am a senior Mechanical Engineering student at CU Boulder, currently enrolled in System Dynamics. I was thinking for the project this semester my group could design and build a rudimentary traction control system for my FZR.

I am not looking to do anything fancy with gyros and ABS, just wheel speed sensors and an ignition retard. I hope this project will continue to inspire me as a design engineer and teach more about motorcycles and different solutions to the problem of going fast.

Does anyone know any good literature regarding motorcycle traction control theory? There's a lot I don't know about this stuff: what percentage wheel slip relative to the front wheel speed to allow, how smooth/abrupt to program the ignition response in order not to upset the bike chassis mid turn, do I need a steering head angle sensor, what kind of wheel sensors do I need, how many times per second I need to collect wheel speed data, stuff like that...

I have lots of spare parts and electronics and parts to make a good test module, all kinds of good data acquisition equipment at my disposal, and two other good engineering minds working with me. We can build some pretty kick-ass electronics, and machine anything we need practically. I think we can pull this off.

Ultimately I would like to mount all this on my 1989 FZR600 and actively test and use it at the track. This will, however, depend on my personal confidence in our work since it's my butt on the line.

Any guidance or constructive criticism is welcome. Like I said, the biggest obstacle right now for me is information. I don't fully understand the problem yet, so I need some good books to fill me in on what really causes wheel spin and what steps to take to control it. Now is the time for research.

Any help appreciated. If you really know what you are talking about I'd probably like to pick your brain over a brew.

-Marsh

rybo