PDA

View Full Version : I.T. guys, how do you feel the market is progressing?

Devaclis
Tue Oct 18th, 2011, 10:51 AM
I have been stating for a couple of years, if not longer, that those of us who have been in I.T. for a while are becomming much more valuable. The outsourcing trend is revearsing and companies are looking for solid, experienced I.T. people that can be brought on board as full time employees. I have seen it evolve over the past 19 years and right now looks to be a very good time for us. What are you seeing out there? Any success/FALE stories recently?

http://arstechnica.com/business/news/2011/10/now-hiring-companies-move-away-from-outsourcing-to-control-their-it-destiny.ars

I

tecknojoe
Tue Oct 18th, 2011, 10:58 AM
I feel as though software engineering is a fabulous market, and it's not going anywhere

down with outsourcing

DFab
Tue Oct 18th, 2011, 11:17 AM
I'm currently looking for a new job in I.T. and or software engineering; not having any trouble finding jobs to apply for.

Devaclis
Tue Oct 18th, 2011, 12:02 PM
The local salary ranges have increaded about 20% from what I can see as well. This a great negotiating point for veterans in the industry.

1. Ask that the increased rate be returned in additional time off/reduced hours.
2. Use that increased salary to work fewer years or enjoy your negotiated vacation time more.

I always ask for more time off. I use ALL of it too. I know IT pros who get 3 or 4 weeks of vacation and take 1 or 2 of them. You are cheating yourself. You are working for less than you are being paid. You are working too much. As a seasoned member of our profession you owe it to yourself to relax a bit, take the time owed to you. You should be good enough and competent enough at your profession to have streamlined your work processes to allow for this. It is the golden age of your carreer right now. Go fishing lol.

tecknojoe
Tue Oct 18th, 2011, 12:04 PM
Oh I'm not golden years. I just want money.

McVaaahhh