PDA

View Full Version : first track bike

sag
Wed Oct 19th, 2011, 10:17 PM
looking at getting a dedicated bike this winter for trackdays and was just wondering what peoples experiences were with getting their first and what tips you might all have, what you wouldve done differently etc...

im thinking just whichever the best deal i can find on a 2000ish japanese 600 thats been prepared already. thoughts?

UglyDogRacing
Wed Oct 19th, 2011, 11:06 PM
here's one for you- http://forums.mra-racing.org/viewtopic.php?t=13939

Bueller
Thu Oct 20th, 2011, 06:06 AM
Get a 250 and learn the corner speed, ride all the time @ IMI for cheap.

http://www.cosportbikeclub.org/forums/showthread.php?t=43132

tecknojoe
Thu Oct 20th, 2011, 07:06 AM
Get a 250 and learn the corner speed, ride all the time @ IMI for cheap.

I have been debating this or an R6 all season. balls.

Sean
Thu Oct 20th, 2011, 07:19 AM
Sag- I'm no expert (but I do play one on the internet) but I did buy my first trackbike a few years back. I just watched the CSC and MRA boards for a cheap one. I didn't have any specifics I was looking for, just an affordable bike that I could crash and not care. I wound up with an 01r6 for $2k and it was great. Not the best bike ever, but I had a shit load of fun taking it to the track and not worrying (as much) about crashing. And when I did crash it, I got some spare parts from some awesome people riding that day and was back out riding in the afternoon session.

I just looked for a bike that had been raced by someone in the MRA. That way it would meet all of my req. Track plastics, safety wired, stabilizer, sliders, rear sets and case covers. Plus, alot of them have even more stuff, better shocks, exhaust, gearing and spare parts. That way if I ever wanted to try and race, I was all set.

The 03 r6 looks solid to me. Good luck!

rybo
Thu Oct 20th, 2011, 07:39 AM