PDA

View Full Version : Coolant and valve clearance

Solinary
Fri Sep 12th, 2003, 10:23 AM
I have 2 questions that I would like to ask please.

1. My bike is low on coolant, can I use regular antifreeze/coolant in my bike, or do I need to get a special motorcycle type?

2. My bike is (over)due the 7k maintenance. Part of that is checking the valve clearance. Unfortunatly I can not afford to pay $300 to have this all done so I am curious how hard it would be for me, a severe techno-computer geek by trade, to accomplish?

I know these questions may be a tad funny, but I love my bike to bits and I don't want to do anything to it that my have a bad outcome. Thanks for the tips in advance. :)

Edit: Spelling :oops:

Anonymous
Fri Sep 12th, 2003, 10:29 AM
1. Go get the premixed Honda antifreeze. Good stuff.

2. How mechanically inclined are you? What kind of bike is it? If you're not sure where to even start, I'd pay someone to do it - it will be a LOT more expensive if you mess it up.

Hozerking
Fri Sep 12th, 2003, 12:35 PM
1. My bike is low on coolant, can I use regular antifreeze/coolant in my bike, or do I need to get a special motorcycle type?

you don't need special motorcycle type, if you want to mix it youself get some distilled water from walgreens or a grocerie store and some coolant and mix it 50/50. if you want to ride on the track some tracks won't let you on if you collant has glycol in it! cause it is slick! ... if not track then one of the simplest sugestion is what ralph sugested, you can also find the the premix stuff at autozone!

2. My bike is (over)due the 7k maintenance. Part of that is checking the valve clearance. Unfortunatly I can not afford to pay $300 to have this all done so I am curious how hard it would be for me, a severe techno-computer geek by trade, to accomplish?