PDA

View Full Version : Best Track for Noobs and things to bring?

Sprint
Mon May 14th, 2012, 07:06 AM
Hello all,

I have been riding for about 7+ years and have never visited a track. I am thinking about doing so in the near future and would like some advice on what tracks are the MOST beginner friendly. I have tracked sports cars and some race-preped cars on PPIR and HPR, and I have been out to Pueblo and IMI a few times to watch. Any suggestions?

Also if I were to get out and do a track day, what should I try and bring with me. Mind you, I might be limited to riding my bike there and back. But if I were to magically get a trailer to tow the bike, what are some things people forget or wouldn't think of to bring?

Thanks everyone, and happy riding.

tecknojoe
Mon May 14th, 2012, 07:10 AM
I would very much recommend NOT riding to the track. if you crash you're fucked. A lot of times if you post up what day you're going you can find trailer space with someone. If I can ever get my damn trailer hitch situation resolved you're welcome to join me next time I go out.

If you've driven then you probly know how to hold a race line and be safe. So you'd probly be good anywhere. HPR is my favorite.

I keep a text document at home that lists every tool and piece of gear I usually bring. I'll post up when I'm home later

asp_125
Mon May 14th, 2012, 08:43 AM
HPR is the most fun, on two or four wheels. I've driven PPIR but not ridden it; the banking is different and the consequences of an oops is greater with all those walls. IMI is a good place to play for a few hours and doesn't require a big commitment on track specific gear.

+1 on a truck or trailer to get to the big tracks, if you wad up your shit you can still get home. I had a friend who rode his VFR out to HPR and broke rule #1 ; I had to retreive his bike the next day with a trailer. He did get a ride, but it was to the hospital in the back of a ambulance.

WolFeYeZ
Mon May 14th, 2012, 08:54 AM