PDA

View Full Version : High Park Fire

mtnairlover
Tue Jun 12th, 2012, 06:58 PM
I don't know if anyone here has realized this, but this fire is taking out the scenery along 3 very scenic and beautiful (twisty) roads...

Rist Canyon
Stove Prairie
hwy14 aka Poudre Canyon

I know I don't live up north anymore, but when I started riding, I would twist the throttle on those roads religiously. It's really hard to consider that the scenery will be all black now...and for years to come.

A detailed, zoomable map... (http://www.co.larimer.co.us/emergency/HighPark_0611_2200.pdf)

Matty
Tue Jun 12th, 2012, 07:49 PM
I wonder what's going to be left after its all said and done...

mtnairlover
Tue Jun 12th, 2012, 07:55 PM
Not a whole lot of anything.

I guess I shouldn't have been so selfish in my first post, but looking at the map and listening to news stories, I know that over 100 structures have been burned as well...many of them homes for people and animals alike.

Anyway...I know it's nature, but that still doesn't lessen the initial shock or the amount of loss that people who live there feel. My feelings of loss are nothing in comparison.

Cornfed
Tue Jun 12th, 2012, 07:55 PM
4 of us came through Poudre Canyon a couple weeks ago and really enjoyed the ride. Ive been thinking about what will be left.

Clovis
Tue Jun 12th, 2012, 10:16 PM
Ditto, Poudre Canyon is one of my favorites. I ride it when I go to visit the in laws with my wife (she takes I-25 and I take the back roads). I hope it's still rideable once the fire is contained!

4 of us came through Poudre Canyon a couple weeks ago and really enjoyed the ride. Ive been thinking about what will be left.

Ghosty
Tue Jun 12th, 2012, 11:14 PM
It's really hard to consider that the scenery will be all black now...and for years to come.