PDA

View Full Version : Dragging Pegs

Zanatos
Sun Apr 28th, 2013, 02:31 PM
It's pretty easy to drag a foot peg in a tight turn on my FJR - especially on roads that have an adverse camber (banked the wrong-way).

What is the proper response when you drag a peg? Do you straighten out and stand the bike up a bit? Do you touch the rear brake? Do you clench your sphincter extra hard, apply the throttle and see if you can create an impressive rooster tail of sparks?

buddahson
Sun Apr 28th, 2013, 02:57 PM
If you still have the feelers on take them off. I'm no expert, but I believe that dragging peg on most sport bikes and sport tourers, isn't likely to cause an issue. There's just not enough material on the peg to cause enough friction to upset the bike. I'd just ride it out or straighten slightly if there is room to do so. Now on a Harley or gold wing with the big ass highway perches, it might be a different story.

Wrider
Sun Apr 28th, 2013, 03:40 PM
I just keep steady. The pegs fold for a reason. Just make sure you don't go past the folding capability of the pegs or it gets really interesting really fast... That's why I switched from a cruiser to a sportier bike.

Cornfed
Sun Apr 28th, 2013, 06:13 PM
Clovis has the same problem and I think he said he swaped the pegs out for dirt bike pegs.

Drano
Sun Apr 28th, 2013, 06:24 PM
Yeah, Clovis pretty much drags everything on his FJR. I've seen him throwing sparks on numerous occasions from pegs to pipes.

CHRISTIAN COWBOY
Sun Apr 28th, 2013, 06:53 PM
I heard Chuck Norris even asked Clovis for tips on riding...:dunno:

BC14
Sun Apr 28th, 2013, 07:30 PM
It happens, just hold your line. Either take the feelers off, or decrease your lean angle some in the corners.

mauser72
Sun Apr 28th, 2013, 08:49 PM
I just lighten the weight im putting on the peg and allow it to fold a little

Matty
Sun Apr 28th, 2013, 09:22 PM
Check this out:

http://www.shift-tech-carbon.com/onlineshop/index.php

BC14
Mon Apr 29th, 2013, 08:01 PM