PDA

View Full Version : can anyone explain why......

Nolan
Sun Jun 23rd, 2013, 05:21 PM
OK, so I'm still new at this. I'm pushing myself and the bike a little more every time I ride. Anyway, while braking into a turn from another turn it feels as if the new direction I'm going in gets very heavy (Or wants to pull in to the new direction) in the steering. I'm not trail breaking very much at all. This is just the transition between left to right or right to left.
I thought it may be the brakes but it is pretty constant when I'm going through "S" type turns.
So with some positive type feedback..... What am I doing wrong or right? Could I actually be fighting the bike?
Sorry it's the best way I can explain it.
Thanks

Bueller
Sun Jun 23rd, 2013, 07:06 PM
Don't brake. Enter the chicane at the speed you want to go through. Try to start concentrating on maintaining a speed entering corners that doesn't require much in the way of braking. Setting up for a corner properly will make your cornering much easier than trying to correct mid corner. Corner speed is where the fun's at.
There is a good trick to shifting back and forth, it is the "knee to knee" weight transfer. I'll show you when we ride again.

Oh and your geometry on the bike might be off if it is fighting you.

j0ker
Sun Jun 23rd, 2013, 07:21 PM
Don't brake.

What he said!

Matty
Sun Jun 23rd, 2013, 07:25 PM
Getting your suspension dialed in also helps out a lot!! But ya listen to Bueller.

Nolan
Sun Jun 23rd, 2013, 08:14 PM
Not knowing the roads makes it a tad difficult to know how fast to enter in the first turn to enter into the second. Going from a 50mph turn to what looks to me as a 30 mph in a distance that seems short to me I pull some brake. I'm not yanking on it a ton just scrubbing some speed off. I'm not super confident in my downshifting skills to drop a gear without trying to skid the rear.

I'm trying!!!!!

Anytime you're ready Bueller. I'm game.

Nolan
Sun Jun 23rd, 2013, 08:21 PM