PDA

View Full Version : Power Commander or no?

Quick636
Tue Feb 3rd, 2004, 06:13 PM
What is your opinion on these little computers? I have heard great things about them, and I have heard terrible things about them.

Worth it or no?

towneh
Tue Feb 3rd, 2004, 08:24 PM
greetngs jay636n,
i'm asking the same kind of question... it seems that if you change the exhaust system (reduced backpressure) and the flowrate on the intake thru a performance airfilter/modified airbox/etc., then you need some way of tweaking the mixture and/or timing over the rpm range. i'm studying 2 options that address this issue from a Suzuki standpoint:

1. power commander (for moi.. dynojet 312-311 PC IIIr ) --abt $300
2. Teka SFI by FactoryPro ---------------------------------------abt $600

option 1 requires a laptop to build a custom map from a baseline map that bears the characteristics of your bike. there are some tweaking capabilities on the power commander itself. settings are made, then tried

option 2 is a pricey little box that lets you make the setting changes dynamically without the use of a laptop. more finite than the PCs

the Busa has oodles of power; i'm thinking about dropping the heavy stock exhaust and in doing that the beast will probably run quite lean. the ECU might be able to correct for the shift but we are located at one of the most extreme environs of the country... and i know that i will be running under load at sealevel. one end o' the spectrum to the other.

option 2 attracts my fancy because the adjustments are made while the engine is running; immediate feedback! but the engineering economist in me says that option 1 is the best bang-per-buck solution. also, there are more people (experts???) familiar with the Power Commander.
i haven't gone either way yet but i am familiarizing myself with the PC software.... that's my take (so far),
henry

brian38
Tue Feb 3rd, 2004, 09:08 PM