PDA

View Full Version : Engine cracking in Cold?

Fly boy
Thu Sep 28th, 2006, 08:58 AM
Another Q from me that probably isn't worth posting but...

Its starting to get colder in the morning, and I was curious if I need to worry about the temp change. I start the bike, and let it warm up for not quite 5 minutes, then take off. I have some highway and some city driving I do, and when I get to school the bike is giving off heat at stop lights. My Q is...

Do I need to worry about the engine being hot from the ride, then turning off the bike and letting it sit in 40 degrees? I start it up an hour later to go to work, and it starts easy without choke. Will the heads crack, or anything like that?

Thanks an advance.

Spiderman
Thu Sep 28th, 2006, 09:06 AM
I'm not an expert, but I don't think you have to worry about that particular scenario.

I've only heard racers worry (because they run water + water wetter instead of anti-freeze) on weekends where the overnight temps are supposed to drop below freezing. The fear is that the water will freeze (and expand), cracking the engine.

Fly boy
Thu Sep 28th, 2006, 09:30 AM
ok, good enough for me.

rybo
Thu Sep 28th, 2006, 09:34 AM
I second spiderbob's post. As long as the antifreeze in your cooling system is in good shape this is not an issue at all.

I rode the VFR all winter last year, sometimes as cold as 11 degrees. No problems at all

Scott

rforsythe
Thu Sep 28th, 2006, 09:58 AM
You're fine.

Fly boy
Thu Sep 28th, 2006, 10:12 AM
Peachy, thanks guys. Now to check and see how the Fluid looks. Are Radiator flushes a good idea?

Bassil Duwaik
Thu Sep 28th, 2006, 11:22 AM
By: Paul Brand, Star Tribune
Three words: "time to temperature." In cold weather, our engines take a much longer period of time to reach full operating temperature. And they take this extra time each and every time we start them up, even if they have not fully cooled down.