PDA

View Full Version : Want to get into racing

Goatsie
Wed Nov 22nd, 2006, 02:27 PM
I've just recently got into the sport of riding motorcycles (I got my bike in May) and since then it has been a sort of obsession; my next plan is to get into racing however there are a few problems: I do not know where a decent race track is in CO, I'm not properly trained to race, I'm a poor college student, I don't have boots, and I don't know anyone in Colorado who goes racing.

So I've come here to seek out the answers to these mysteries. If you can help me out it'd be great!

PS. Probably my biggest hope for this is to find some buddies to "teach me to ropes" of racing and get to know people. Group rides are alright, and I'd be willing to go a few times, but its really all about track.

Bueller
Wed Nov 22nd, 2006, 02:31 PM
You should do some track days first at IMI or the Pueblo track to see how well you really like it. Poor and racing don't go together well.

Kris
Wed Nov 22nd, 2006, 02:34 PM
Here's a place to start for information:

www.mra-racing.org

rforsythe
Wed Nov 22nd, 2006, 02:40 PM
Yeah, what Bueller said. There will also be MRA racing schools likely in April (www.mra-racing.org) that are a full day of turning and burning, and result in you being eligible to get a race license (the class is a prerequisite to racing).

Bueller
Wed Nov 22nd, 2006, 04:32 PM
We will be at IMI on Sat. I will be on the #999 bikes (supermoto). If you are interested in actually racing I can give you some insight as to what is involved. And if you want to ride I would recommend getting some boots, heavy work boots at a minimum. Size?

Goatsie
Wed Nov 22nd, 2006, 08:48 PM