PDA

View Full Version : how do you make sure you don't buy and junk bike ?

highman56
Thu Mar 25th, 2004, 10:47 PM
I am new at buying sportbike and wanted to know what to look for and what to check out to make should i get a good like? :?

NZ Darren
Thu Mar 25th, 2004, 10:53 PM
Where do you live? Perhaps someone here can go with you, if your in the springs can probably look at a bike with you.

MostroS4
Fri Mar 26th, 2004, 06:05 AM
I find getting to know the owner of the bike is really the best way to get a rough idea of the condition of the bike.

If the owner brags about how great the bike is at wheelies or stoppies, I'm probably going to walk away. If the owner doesn't have any real idea mechanically about the bike, forget it.

If the owner doesn't have receipts for all the major work done, I ask them details about the work, who did it and when.

So get a feel for the owner, if they were meticulous with the bike or at least performed the basic maintenance of the bike.

Then there are some tell-tale signs when you look at the bike. The first one I look at that gives me an indication of the type of attention the bike received is the chain area.

Is the chain area clean? Meaning not a build up of old lube and not lube flung everywhere.

Is the chaing tension close to correct? Do the teeth on the rear sprocket look heavily worn?

I also look at the general cleanliness of the bike. If its grimey and dirty, forget it. IMO, it means general neglect of the bike.

There are tons more stuff that I look at but the drive chain area is the first place I look.

If you don't know what to look for but you are serious about the bike, take it to a local shop and have them give it the once over. If the owner is serious about selling and has nothing to hide, they'll agree. Its better to spend a hundred now vs several hundred later...

HDave
Fri Mar 26th, 2004, 06:25 AM
this is good information too.

http://www.clarity.net/~adam/buying-bike.html#1

good luck

Anonymous