Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Open Discussion: IMI, safety and the CSC

aka - The Devil Lifetime Supporter
    Site Admin

Open Discussion: IMI, safety and the CSC

IMI is starting to become a major destination for many of us. As a result we are seeing more and more instances of "close calls" that could really end badly. In another thread someone said "we don't want to learn this shit the hard way" and I second that sentiment. These lessons are ones that we learned all too brutally just a year ago.

I understand not wanting to ride to the track without the mirrors on the bike, but you still have at least two options to help keep you safe(er) out there. One is that you can simply fold them in. make it so they aren't usable. The other is that all kinds of guys show up with tools. Borrow what you need, take the mirrors off. Not too hard.

I started riding around IMI 4-5 years ago and at that time there were several other tracks available for people to go to and get their kicks. We are currently down to two tracks in the state that will let street riders on. IMI and Pueblo. Let me be clear, this is unusual. Most every other track I've been to does NOT allow people to show up and hop on like we have the ability to do. In the midwest the only way a street rider gets on a racetrack is to be there with some organizing body like Sportbike Track Time or NESBA. You think $35 (IMI) or $75 (pueblo) is expensive...try going to one of the sites and seeing what a track day at Miller or Road America will cost you. Granted, they are far better facilities, but you aren't only limited by the money, there are only a few times a year you would get to ride.

As other tracks in Colorado have closed we have congested a course that was never really intended to handle us. One of three things is going to happen in the near future: